Testimonials

We receive many letters from the families we've served, thanking us for our caring ways during their time of loss. Their words warm our hearts, and speak to you of our professionalism, compassion, and the true value of the services we provide.

The lunch and learn presentation was very informative. The staff was knowledgeable and congenial. We are glad that we had the opportunity to attend.

5 stars
Donna Moran May 07, 2024

Chester Location / Kent Island

Very nice & informative luncheon. I was very pleased with all the different options available, and I learned about new & old traditions. Ryan & Kristal were wonderful to work with.

5 stars
Rich Colburn May 01, 2024

Chester Location / Kent Island

We were very pleased with the services provided by the Easton location. The staff was very professional yet compassionate and respectful of our wishes. They provided a wonderful experience during a very difficult time for us. Their thoughtfulness was very much appreciated by our family during our loss.

5 stars
Terri Phillips February 04, 2023

Easton Location

We were very pleased with the services provided by the Easton location. The staff was very professional yet compassionate and respectful of our wishes. They provided a wonderful experience during a very difficult time for us. Their thoughtfulness was very much appreciated by our family during our loss.

5 stars
Terri Phillips February 04, 2023

Easton Location

When the two Attendants Staff from Fellows, Helfeinbein, Newnan Funeral Home came to pick up my Twin Sister body, immediately I was given a brochure to complete and was instructed to contact Kirk Helfeinbein, the next day. From my first encounter with Kirk Helfeinbein , he was very kind compassionate, caring and explained the details of the services that I wanted for my Twin Sister. Kirk Helfeinbein gave me a booklet to keep all notes, cards, monetary gifts, calls, etc that I could refer back to ensure to thank everyone that comforted me during my difficult bereavement. Kirk Helfeinbein informed me that the Staff Person that I needed to speak with was Mary. Each and everytime I contacted Mary via email, she responded to me immediately and answered any concerns or questions without hesitation. Mary was very attentive and kind to ensure all of my needs were met. I must say Jessica (Funeral Director), was another wonderful Staff Member whom went beyond the call of duty to ensure the precision of the service was met Jessica, I thank you for managing the Funeral Service of my Twin Sister (Rosina Reed)so well. I would recommend this wonderful Funeral Home to every grieving family. Thank you so much for arranging such a peaceful and beautiful service for my Twin Sister (Rosina Reed). Excellent Staff!

5 stars
Regina Reed January 26, 2023

Chestertown Location

The people at Fellows, Helfenbein & Newnam are kind, caring, and capable. We are so grateful for their help. Everything was taken care of, and we were guided through the whole process seamlessly. Justin is phenomenal, and gave us all the support that we needed. In a time of sadness and difficulty, it is a God-send to have someone to rely on so completely. Thank you so very much.

5 stars
Becky Pfund December 01, 2022

Easton Location

Everything, they were wonderful when my nephew passed years ago and when my brother passed 5 years ago. I was having trouble with my hip, they took care of me with so much passion. A lot of my friends commented to me how professional they all were. Magnificent funeral home and people. I sent them a letter telling them how much I appreciated everything they did and now I have the opportunity tell everyone.

5 stars
shelda fitzhugh November 23, 2015

Easton Location

My husband was an Annapolis Capital reporter murdered in the mass shooting June 28, 2018. FHN Funeral Home was not the closest service provider, but was so highly recommended I put myself in their compassionate and competent hands. Jen Chance handled the despondent family, the medical examiner, the dignified guests, the press scrum, the police presence, the traffic jams, the uncertain reception requirements, the photo display, the music, the financial matters, and me, in all my distress, with gentle fortitude, efficiency, and grace. I can't thank her enough.

5 stars
Andrea Chamblee July 15, 2018

Easton Location

Newnam's has always gone above & beyond to show compassion to families when it's needed most. During the crucial period of planning through the time of the service, they don't just leave it there, they call you to check on you, they give you guidance verbally as well as written (because we're not thinking clearly at the time), and honor your loved one during the holidays with a crystal ornament on their tree. (most people don't even come in to pick their ornament up, can't imagine why, ours is beautiful). This isn't an easy career choice, God bless each one of them there, they treat you & your loved one like family. I personally know one of the young ladies whose about to take her final exam to become a licensed mortician, Melissa Martelli, she sets the example of how to show respect & compassion towards people in the hour of loss. I've used this funeral home for several family members & I can't say enough good things about them, they go the extra mile.

5 stars
Ruth Higgins June 26, 2020

Easton Location

5 stars
My Messy Desk June 26, 2020

Easton Location

5 stars
Heather Kerber June 26, 2020

Easton Location

5 stars
Scott Roberton June 26, 2020

Easton Location

5 stars
Nakita Roberton June 26, 2020

Easton Location

5 stars
Katie Farris June 26, 2020

Easton Location

5 stars
Dana Scaccalossi June 26, 2020

Easton Location

5 stars
Sara Kellam June 26, 2020

Easton Location

5 stars
Ashley Galeazzi June 26, 2020

Easton Location

It's never easy losing a loved one, but everyone here was so kind, compassionate, and understanding. The hall is gorgeous. I didn't worry about one detail once i walked into the funeral home. While i hope to never return, reality says we will be back, to trust them with anyother beautiful service.

5 stars
Megan Munoz June 26, 2020

Easton Location

I was very pleased the level they went for dad. Very kind., caring. He looked so good. Very professional. The ladies were outstanding. Showing kindness.

5 stars
Sharlene Bullen December 30, 2020

Easton Location

5 stars
Catherine Raphael February 10, 2021

Easton Location

Thank you all for the loving and kind care extended to our family in the loss of our beloved husband and father. Every person was generously gentle during such a difficult period of our lives. Having this staff of caring people made a difficult time more bearable . We will always remember this. Thanks to all.

5 stars
Shelley Still April 28, 2021

Easton Location

We give our sincere apprecition and graditude to the staff of Fellows, Helfenbein & Newnam as they handled our father's funeral arrangements. Their compassion and care during this very difficult time for the family was just wonderful. Thank you for all you did for us.

5 stars
Phyllis Adam May 26, 2021

Easton Location

FHN (Easton) recently handled arrangements for my father. Melissa executed every aspect of our father’s wishes flawlessly. She was patient, professional, and made the process as simple as possible. Her knowledge and skill were evident but what unquestionably shone through was her unwavering dedication to ensuring that our Dad was treated with dignity and respect and that his final wishes were carried out exactly as he would have wanted them to be. The compassion Melissa displayed for my family is priceless. We owe an eternal debt of gratitude to FHN Easton, Melissa, and the many others who helped ensure that our Dad had a most honorable homegoing.

5 stars
Jaime Sayler August 11, 2021

Easton Location

Thank you Teddi Jo and Karen for helping our family at a time when emotions are raw and thinking can be foggy. We were given guidance support and kindness at such a difficult time. Teddi Jo was especially wonderful! She was so empathic as we chose our prayer card. She worked with us as we switched numerous times the fonts, the script etc. She let us take our time and patiently helped us find the perfect card. Every question was answered , allowing us to pay tribute to our wonderful Phil. Thank you, Catherine

5 stars
Catherine Paklaian March 15, 2022

Easton Location

I am so grateful to Chad Helfenbein and the FHN team for making a difficult time so easy. My father received such a wonderful life celebration thanks to FHN. Chad and the staff were kind, responsive, professional, prompt, and attended to every detail. My father did not make funeral arrangements for himself but left requests that required real effort on the part of FHN to fulfill. FHN honored all of his requests and the day was really as perfect as it could be. Chad you all were so easy to work with. Thank you!

5 stars
Lisa Simpson May 23, 2022

Easton Location

Best funeral service I have used. Staff was very friendly and accommodating during this hard time. Would recommend to everyone.

5 stars
Mary Catherine Parker August 17, 2022

Easton Location

I want to personal thank Jason' and his dad for the consideration and care they showed my Mother and family during this difficult time. You really need a friendly and experienced most of all professional group to help you when you start to deal with after life details. If you have no direction an not sure what to do, go with this incredibly wonderful staff an let them guide you to peace of mind.

5 stars
Tasha Royster December 06, 2018

Fellows Family Funeral Home

The funeral home did an excellent job with my mother’s funeral. Kirk guided us and helped us with the many decisions that had to be made. Kirk and Mary were always available to answer all of our questions and to just listen when we needed to talk. I appreciate the compassion that was shown to us at this difficult time. Thank you!

5 stars
Carolyn Jones January 26, 2021

Chestertown Location

The young woman at the funeral home was so helpful, kind, and patient during such an emotional time for my family. She juggled the input from my grandmothers 10 kids and created a celebration that truly was beautiful. Grandma was watching over from heaven loving it.

5 stars
Gabrielle Schmidt August 17, 2022

Chestertown Location

5 stars
Dave Cook November 06, 2018

Chester Location / Kent Island

During a very difficult time for my family, FHN provided a loving, memorable service for my grandfather. The staff was incredibly kind and enduring, especially Ashley. She was empathetic and attentive. My family will be forever grateful for her kindness, and the kindness of the staff under her leadership.

5 stars
Jorge Castro August 17, 2022

Chester Location / Kent Island

Ashley is thoughtful, empathetic, and detail oriented. She understands what families are going through and helps them realize their vision when saying farewell.

5 stars
Dean Packard August 17, 2022

Chester Location / Kent Island

5 stars
Barbara Matney May 15, 2020

Centreville Location

The staff of FHN is very helpful through every step of the loss of a loved one. The aftercare program is phenomenal and their staff is ever so kind. I would like to personally thank every person that had a hand in celebrating the life of my brother. He would not have been honored as he was at any other funeral home. Thank you again!

5 stars
Elissa Bell November 20, 2013

Very comforting people. They do everything to make your grieving process & the funeral process as easy as possible.

5 stars
Kimberly Twiggy August 15, 2018

they give you superb service.

5 stars
Phyllis Lawson Messick February 13, 2019

Very professional and sensitive family needs

5 stars
Elaine Dell November 20, 2019

Our family is very grateful for the excellent service we received at the Fellows Family Funeral Home in Millington, first, in the graveside service and burial of our dad two years ago and second, in the recent visitation and graveside service for our mother. At both times, Jason was very caring and accommodating in helping us to honor and remember our dear parents.

5 stars
Wade Foraker June 17, 2022

Your kindness, helpfulness and compassion to me and my family during the time of my fathers passing will always be remembered. Please express my appreciation to your entire staff.

5 stars
Family of John P. Dempsey

It was comforting to know that at a time in my life when I had the money to take care of my husband’s funeral costs I was able to do so through the Advance Planning program at Fellows, Helfenbein & Newnam Funeral Home. This is something that everyone should take advantage of to eliminate the financial burden.

5 stars
M. Palmer

I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to make my fathers service as fantastic as it was. You and your staff did a really amazing job setting the memorial up to showcase the man my father was. I appreciate it greatly. Take care.

5 stars
Katie

Great presentation. Very informative and professional. Learned a lot about the whole funeral process and options. I will be pre-planning with them!

5 stars
Timothy Germana May 02, 2024

Talk was very informative, and well presented. I plan to work with you all, when needed. A family member is visiting in mid-June, and when I am more sure of the dates, I will let you know. I plan to be cremated, and placed in a North Carolina columbearium in Winston-Salem. I would like a reception at your place on Harrison. Details to be decided/discussed. Thank you for the lunch. Merrilie Ford

5 stars
Merrilie Ford May 02, 2024

The service was well managed and professionally done. All the staff were courteous and thoughtful of attendees. Our family continues to find Justin and his staff so helpful during our sad time of need. Simple things like providing drinks and even fresh baked chocolate chip cookies during planning meetings helps soften such a difficult time.

5 stars
Deborah Henry February 03, 2023

From the moment we walked in the door we were treated like family. Kirk treated us with respect and went out of his way to make sure we were at ease throughout the entire process. Kirk was available what felt like 24-7, no matter what time of day I reached out with a question or concern, Kirk got back to me instantly. You want to feel like your lost loved one is being taken care of and there was never a doubt in my mind at Fellows, Helfenbein & Newman in Chestertown. My highest recommendations.

5 stars
Courtney Williams January 20, 2023
5 stars
Gwen Towson January 07, 2023

I worked with both Karen and Pam. They were incredible. Very compassionate, understanding and helpful. I truly appreciate everything they did to help and guide me. Karen, it was wonderful to meet you in person as well. Many thanks.

5 stars
Newfies Davis November 22, 2022

The finest of its kind...compassionate, with attention on those left to mourn.

5 stars
Emilie Knud-Hansen January 30, 2017
5 stars
Mark Marshall December 13, 2019
5 stars
Rhiannon Schmidt June 26, 2020

Nobody I'd rather have care for my family. Professional and thoughtful.

5 stars
Mark Schmidt June 26, 2020
5 stars
Cassie Hovelson June 26, 2020
5 stars
Kalie Hilyard June 26, 2020
5 stars
Elizabeth Cozzi June 26, 2020
5 stars
Kelli Fincham June 26, 2020

I have, unfortunately, been to a lot of funeral services in my life. The team at Fellows, Helfenbein & Newnam are some of the kindest and most gracious I've ever met. I highly recommend them if you find yourself needing funeral services prepared for a loved one.

5 stars
Jessica Wise June 26, 2020
5 stars
Alexis Trofholz June 26, 2020
5 stars
Hannah Penley June 26, 2020

Very professional, treats each family with the courtesy and care they deserve.

5 stars
Kayla Patterson June 26, 2020

I’m writing this 4 months later, but I really wanted to note how much the staff here went above and beyond in our family’s time of grief. Justin was the gentleman that we worked with. He was so kind, patient, and handled everything so efficiently. He provided us with all the tools we needed to handle future affairs. I highly recommend this funeral home.

5 stars
Donna Knox February 05, 2021

I was incredibly happy with the services I received. Melissa was my director and she could not have been better. She never told me “we can’t do that.” Everything was a yes and of course.

5 stars
Lisa Brinkmann February 27, 2021

All our experiences with Fellows, Helfenbein and Newnam Funeral Home, over the years have been excellent, very professional and made my son Daniel and myself feel very comfortable when making the funeral arrangements for my husband, William H. Larrimore's passing. Bill & I had our funerals planned and prepaid for several years and had several meetings with FHN to accomplish these plans. to make it easier on the surviving partner and family. Chris Fontana worked with us and we thank Chris so much for the care he gave to both my son and myself. Also, Kelly Legg was our Concierge and gave us the help that we needed, both during and after as we worked though our post service checklists. The wonderful binder provided by FHN is such a great help in organizing the post service details. Again, thank you FHN, we appreciated all the kindness and professional help that you provided to myself and Daniel during our time of sadness and grief. Betty Larrimore Daniel Larrimore

5 stars
Betty Larrimore May 16, 2021

On behalf of the family, we would like to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for a job very well done. There are not enough words to describe the gratitude and appreciation we have for the patience, kindness and outstanding professionalism your staff exhibited during this very difficult time. Your services were outstanding and second to none!

5 stars
M.Victoria Bellard June 23, 2021

Thank you Justin and team, our family can’t begin to tell you how grateful we are for your excellent, professional, empathetic and helpful handling of our Dad’s service. Your team went above and beyond anything we could have imagined, from having the lovely portrait of my Dad done, to providing the littles with their own little mint pouch. Unbelievable service *****

5 stars
Sandra Howard September 23, 2021

The sincerest gratitude I wish to express for the services for Michael James Moore are enormous. Even though the services for my Veteran son were held on Kent Island, the Chestertown office (where I work at my job not having to run back to KI) were fully able to coordinate the appropriated services. Jessica – Blessed I cannot express enough to for she coordinated everything to perfection allowing me and my eldest son, our family and friends the ability to cherish and celebrate both a Christian mass and all military honors for Michael. Behind the scenes was Mary who coordinated precious tribute videos and that are forever will be cherished. Forever grateful. Love and peace in Jesus. Elissa Moore

5 stars
Elissa Moore April 17, 2022

Ryan was just the best. He was seamless with his relaxed approach. We never felt rushed or under pressure. On a scale of 1-10 I gave him a 20. You won't be disappointed! Make sure plans now like we did and have peace of mind for your family and friends.

5 stars
Wendy Gibson June 28, 2022

Fellows, Helfenbein & Newnam in Easton, Maryland is a beautiful and tranquil venue. Everyone on the staff I encountered was compassionate, helpful, and sensitive to our family's needs, wishes, and accommodations. I'm grateful for Justin Britcher's guidance and recommendations. He made the process of organizing our celebration of life easy for us.

5 stars
Miriam Bowerman September 02, 2022

On behalf of the family of my late husband, James W. Kerr, I wish to extend my sincerest thanks to Fellows, Helfenbein & Newnam (FHN) for the responsive and supportive manner in which my husband’s funeral arrangements were conducted, and the subsequent support for me personally. What could have been a very sad and painful time was made significantly less so by the fact that we had worked with FHN’s Easton office on advance planning for our funerals some years previously. This was certainly one of the best planning and financial measures we have taken. Not only did this preplanning ensure that the arrangements reflected the desires of the individual(s) covered, but it provided for most of the expenses as well. I was pleased that the escrowed funds initially established to cover the funeral arrangements were sufficient to cover most of the expenses; however, inflation in this field, as well as in the economy in general, sent me back to FHN to review my own plans and to ensure that the funds in my account would be sufficient to cover my own funeral arrangements when needed. Planners from FHN worked with me to review my arrangements and to ensure their funding through a whole life insurance policy designed for this purpose. My existing escrowed funds covered a significant portion of the costs of the life insurance policy. An additional bonus is that the accounts are now transferable should one choose to leave Maryland. The general public would be well served by a heightened awareness of the need for preplanning funerals and for the various instruments available for financing them. Inflation is a reality in our economy, and planning for funerals should become an integral part of an individual’s or a family’s overall financial planning. I would also argue that the planning process should extend to planning for cemetery lot acquisition and management as well, as inflation also affects these costs. While I am aware that FHN does not handle cemetery plot acquisition and management, I would urge that FHN recommend to clients that they explore these arrangements as an integral, although separate, additional part of advance planning. Thank you for the support and for the services provided to me personally and to the community. Janice K.

5 stars
Jill Seropian February 03, 2017

Kirk and the entire staff treated my entire family with the utmost respect and compassion during and after our time of need. He totally understood our every need and treated us as if it was his own family member. Every time I contacted them about any concern, each staff member I encountered treated me as if they had known me all my life and knew exactly what we needed, and acted on it immediately. Everything was Perfect before, during, and after our services. They are the ONLY ones I would recommend.

5 stars
Ruthie Maloney June 01, 2021

Kirk, Jason and the entire FHN staff I knew instantly who I wanted to care for my mother-in-law based on past experience with you. I have seen the company from a professional stand point and was always impressed. Now that I have experienced your care on a personal level, I am even more impressed. When I called a few days before my mother-in-law’s passing, I was put at ease knowing you could handle my situation. My mother-in-law had been diagnosed with cancer and wanted to make one final trip home from Oregon to see everyone. A few days after arriving home, she took a turn for the worst and would not recover. She spent her final days in the hospice house in Denton. Prior to her passing, I contacted Kirk, who agreed to meet with me to discuss my concerns. My situation was somewhat unique as we had to get my mother-in-law’s remains back to Oregon for burial. We had not planned for this scenario and were feeling somewhat overwhelmed. I met with Jason during an extremely emotional and difficult time. Jason was so kind, knowledgeable, courteous and understanding. He explained what needed to be done regarding getting my mother-in-law’s remains back to Oregon. My mother-in-law had a prepaid transferable policy she had previously set up in Oregon. FHN worked with the funeral home in Oregon and handled everything for us. When my mother-in-law passed away, FHN came right out to handle the remains. The FHN representatives were professionally dressed in suit and tie (as they always are when I see them). They expressed their condolences and were very professional, gentle and caring with my mother-in-law. After my mother-in-law passed away, I met with Jason and discussed the policy my mother-in-law had paid for. Jason showed me what would cost extra since she had to be flown to Oregon and also showed me pictures of the casket that she had chosen. Jason showed amazing tact in letting me realize on my own that the casket my mother-in-law had chosen was very low end. He in no way tried to use my emotion against me or press me to go for a more expensive casket. I could tell by the pictures and the description though, that it was not going to be what my wife would want. In a word, it was cheap. Again, there was no pressure to change. When I returned home, I explained the circumstances to my wife. She wanted to choose a different casket. I called Jason, just 15 minutes after meeting with him and requested to meet again. Jason, without hesitation told me to come on back whenever it suited. We returned 15 minutes later and along with Jason’s help, picked out a more suitable casket. Jason and Kirk both gave me their personal cell phone number to call if I had any questions or concerns while preparations were being made. I called several times that weekend and they always answered. We did not have a service for my mother-in-law here since she was having one in Oregon. FHN offered to allow us to spend a few minutes with my mother-in-law after she had been prepared for burial before she was to leave for Oregon. We accepted and scheduled a time. Let me say, we changed our plans on when we were coming and who was coming, several times. Kirk accommodated us without ever complaining or even acting like it was an issue. My mother-in-law was absolutely beautiful as was the casket. My mother-in-law arrived in Oregon just as planned and was met by the funeral home on the other end just as planned. It was seamless for us, all due to FHN planning and staying on top of the Oregon funeral home. I cannot thank FHN for all they did for us. It was as if Kirk and Jason were family and we were getting the royal treatment. Thank you, Mark Miller (on behalf of the Ropiak Family)

5 stars
Melissa C February 10, 2017

Chris and the professional staff provide the finest family care, and they are members of our community too!

5 stars
Wayne Francis Funeral Bagpiper July 12, 2022

Great service, can tell that the staff really care about their work. Our funeral director, Ashley, took care of everything with great care & attention to detail.

5 stars
Rick Niewald August 17, 2022

Ashley was super helpful with our family. I would recommend FHN when you will be in the need of a funeral or celebration of life services.

5 stars
Kareen Whiteley August 17, 2022
5 stars
Kellie Barker October 13, 2013

Very professional and very caring employees. Made me feel like family 5 stars

5 stars
Diane Lady-Di April 20, 2018

I have known the Helfenbein family for 45 years. I have had the unfortunate circumstances to use their professional services. They were kind, caring and genuine. They made my worst days seem alittle better. They treated us with the greatest dignity. As with many in this industry, they run a family business. Their sons have grown into fine young men who I couldn’t be prouder to call my friends and neighbors. They are very active in the community and give back often. Solid, caring people.

5 stars
Elaine Harrison August 16, 2018

Kirk- you made the hardest event in our family’s lives so much easier, and I will forever be grateful to the guidance and support you provided to my family, and especially to my Mom.

5 stars
Debbie Spence September 16, 2019

The Centerville funeral home remodel looks absolutely gorgeous. What I will call “the after room” is a wonderful concept. Extremely calming and peaceful setting. Thank you all for always being a pleasure to work with.

5 stars
Carrie Os March 17, 2022

It's not easy when a loved one passes away, but Justin and his team made the organization of visitation and funeral arrangements as stressless as possible. And their attention to even the smallest detail was appreciated. They were also very sensitive to the emotional needs of the family. Our thanks to all of them as well as to Mike Newnam.

5 stars
Pat (Gipe) Lesnoff and family May 03, 2021

From the time we first met with Ryan, sitting around the dining room table at the farm a few years ago to the burial at St. Peters just recently, we knew we were in good hands. Thank you; to each of you, you are truly special people.

5 stars
P. Rhodes Stanley

Dear Tom, We are so grateful to you, your sons, and your staff for all the support and care you gave to our family during a very sad and difficult time. Everything was completed meticulously from Chad’s picking up mother from Hospice – to Kirk’s helping with arrangements – to your being there for our family at both the visitation and funeral. Additionally, your staff produced a beautiful video tribute and attended to all other details flawlessly. Please know how appreciative we are for your efforts in making our final tribute to our Mother such a lovely one. We’re sure she was pleased from her “seat up above.” Sincerely, The Family of Rebecca Dean

5 stars
Howard Dean, Faye Roser, Diane Bandiere, Kaye Romanosky

Looking for More Information?

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.